More Summer Flowers

11 Jul

Why is it so difficult to write sometimes? Is is the lovely summer weather that makes me so languid and lazy? Or is it the sound of the wind chimes blowing in the sea breeze? Lately I’ve been such a procrastinator that I’ll do just about anything to avoid sitting down at the computer–including taking photographs of my garden. Perhaps these flowers will become my muse and help inspire me to get back on the computer and WRITE! Or maybe they will inspire you….

9 Responses to “More Summer Flowers”

  1. darlenecraviotto July 11, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    Yep, I know what you mean. Summer makes us want to slow down and not work so hard. I just wrote a blog post about it that I’ll be putting up on my website tomorrow. Great minds think alike! I love the photos of the flowers – Thanks for posting them!

  2. Becky Green Aaronson July 11, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    Creativity comes in all forms. Your garden is gorgeous, and inspiring in itself. Relax and take time to smell the roses…and peonies and foxgloves and cosmos and marigolds…

    • Allegro non tanto July 12, 2012 at 8:14 am #

      It’s funny that something I enjoy doing so much is often so difficult to do! (And I’m not talking about gardening!)

  3. Tracey July 11, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    What an awesome garden!

  4. DEBatterman July 12, 2012 at 6:27 am #

    I think your garden is simply telling you that summer is the time to be outside . . . partying with friends (in Oregon ;-), reading a book (or a blog post) that evokes memories of summers past. And speaking of the shared joys of reading, I have a lovely little book I got years ago — ‘The Language of Flowers,’ by Margaret Pickston — essentially a compendium of the names of flowers and their meaning. I saw it on Amazon (much more than the $5.00 I paid for it) but perhaps Vanessa Diffenbaugh’s novel of the same title would be just the thing for you.

    • Allegro non tanto July 12, 2012 at 8:19 am #

      I’ve read Vanessa Diffenbaugh’s novel and loved it! I’m sure she referred to Pickston’s guide when writing it, too. I’ll order it–thanks for the recommendation. Happy summer, my friend!

  5. Charla Bregante July 13, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    I think you need to bring your laptop out to your lovely garden and write there!

Leave a Reply

