Creating Art My Way

24 Jul

We are all artists in our own way. Some of us may never pick up a paintbrush and splash color onto a canvas, or sculpt a hunk of clay into something miraculously beautiful, yet we manage to find other ways to express our artistic talents and bring beauty into the world, one small creation at a time.

Some of us use words to create an artistic vision that comes to life in the mind of the reader. Some of us create art through musical expression and some of us use our hands to dig up the soil and plant.

I’ve used all three of these mediums to express my artistic creativity: writing, playing the piano, and gardening. I’ve got to admit that even though I thoroughly enjoy all of them, the digging in the soil comes closest to placing me in my own personal nirvana.

When I work in the garden, I’m at my happiest because I don’t feel a sense that anyone is judging me—I’m solely doing it for me. I’m not worried about pleasing someone else, but I’m creating the beauty for my own delight and satisfaction. And isn’t that what creating art is all about—doing it for ourselves?

My most recent artistic explorations…..

This:

Plus this:

Plus this:

Equals this:

More examples of a different kind of artistic expression….

19 Responses to “Creating Art My Way”

  1. Tracey Baptiste July 24, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    Those are all really lovely. Although I am terrible with plants, (I can’t grow grass) both of my parents love to garden, so I appreciate a well-tended garden, and artfully arranged flowers.

    • Allegro non tanto July 24, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      I refuse to believe that you are terrible with plants! In my opinion, someone as creative and artistic as you could do anything, even grow grass!

  2. Britton Minor July 24, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    WOW–you are so TALENTED–these pictures reached out an grabbed me–the plant/flower arrangements are so beautifully and artfully put together. My oldest is gifted in this way too…she has turned her front and back yards into a flower/fruit/vegetable oasis. I love seeing her progress. No matter how insanely busy she is, she is always gardening…always trying something new…inspiring me with her passion. I too love gardening but have let the past two years go by without doing much. I’m going to do more….no, really! I LOVE this post. LOVE seeing your passions up close and personal.

    And I totally understand what you mean about gardening just embracing us wholly and without judgement…it’s a giving back and a taking that fulfills to the core.

    • Allegro non tanto July 24, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

      Working in the garden is my magic elixir and has saved me from myself (and my annoying habit of beating myself up emotionally) because no one can be negative when surrounded by such beauty!

  3. elizabeth July 24, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    I love your thoughts about creating art your way and I LOVE your gardening photos – just beautiful!

    • Allegro non tanto July 24, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

      Thank you so much! I’m so impressed by my new iphone–it takes amazing photos!

  4. DEBatterman July 24, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    I’m in awe of people who do magic with flowers. And it’s not just because of the beauty you create — there’s an underlying connection with the earth that adds a dimension to the kind of art gardening gives rise to.

    • Allegro non tanto July 24, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      I think nature is art in its purest and simplest form, and when I work in the garden I am truly myself.

  5. SoundEagle July 24, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Reblogged this on Potted Plant Society.

    • Allegro non tanto July 24, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      Thank you so much for reblogging my post! I’m so excited to encounter the “Potted Plant Society”!

      • SoundEagle July 24, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

        Likewise! You are welcome and keep up the good work!

      • SoundEagle July 24, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

        Likewise! You are welcome and keep up the good work!

        Allegro non tanto!

  6. Claudine Gueh July 25, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    The blooms are beautiful, Jessica. As is your sentiment that we create Art for ourselves! I feel like walking in a park soon (when morning comes), and playing the piano soon (however bad I might sound) and painting soon.

  7. Becky Green Aaronson July 25, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    Jessica, your garden and your connection to the earth is truly a source of inspiration. Thanks for sharing a slice of your creative heaven with us. Your pictures are gorgeous.

  8. Rossandra White August 3, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    I cannot tell you how much I like what you’ve done here. Arrangements like this just make me happy, especially the first three. So, how do you decide what plants to put together? I imagine you wandering around the nursery trying first this one then that, arranging them together. Right? And you must know which ones can be grouped together, so you don’t over or underwater. That’s where I falter. Anyway, Lovely.

    • Allegro non tanto August 14, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

      Sorry I never responded to your comment, Rossandra! You got spammed! I just checked my spam folder and found your comment hiding there…Anyway, to answer your question: yes, I do experiment with different plants and if it doesn’t work, I start over! I never really think about what plants work well together, I usually just go with the colors. It’s fun to see what works!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Creating Art My Way | Potted Plant Society - September 7, 2012

    […] more… 155 more words This entry was posted on 25 July 2012, in Container Gardening, Potted Garden, Potted Plants and […]

Leave a Reply

