The Last Lazy Days of Summer

16 Aug

School starts in less than two weeks and once again, I’ll have the house to myself in the mornings. Normally by the end of August, I’m more than ready to get the kids and Rene out of the house and get myself back to a more definite schedule.  But I feel differently this year.

This past summer has been the most relaxing and peaceful summer I can ever remember and I’m actually sad that it’s ending. And I don’t think it’s the summer this year that’s been different, although the weather has been more glorious than ever.

I think I’m the one who’s changed.

This past year I’ve finally reached a point where I’ve learned to be present enough to thoroughly enjoy every single moment of my life, and all along, that simple little concept is all I ever
needed to be happy.

So I’ll leave you with some new photos of my flower garden in the hopes that the incredible colors of these flowers will help inspire you to look around at the beauty that surrounds you. Join me in enjoying the last lazy days of summer!

6 Responses to “The Last Lazy Days of Summer”

  1. injaynesworld August 16, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    What a gorgeous garden. Every flower unique and beautiful. If only we could appreciate the beauty of our uniqueness as human. It would be such a bore to have a garden filled with only one variety of flower. Lovely, Jessica.

  2. Darlene Craviotto August 16, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Lovely garden! Beautiful sentiments, Jessica.

  3. Deborah Batterman August 17, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    I needed this today . . . The subtle change in light (days just beginning to get shorter) hit me this week. I’m holding on to every bit of summer, heat and all. And, yes, being as present as I can.

  4. Leah August 18, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    Such beautiful flowers! I’m loving your garden. Sophie goes back to school the week of Labor Day. I’m trying to enjoy these last few weeks of summer and revel in the laid-back feelings of the day. Enjoy your last few days as well.

    • Allegro non tanto August 18, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

      Thank you, Leah! I hope you have lots of fun with Sophie before school starts again!

Leave a Reply

