My List

21 Dec
Isa's first Christmas after being diagnosed with cancer

Isa’s first Christmas after being diagnosed with cancer

Christmas is right around the corner, and as I wrote about in my last blog post, my tradition is to send out a family photo and annual newsletter detailing our family’s experiences and accomplishments over the past year.

This year, in honor of my eight year-old daughter, Isa who celebrated her fifth year of being cancer-free (and is now considered completely cured) I decided to write a different kind of letter—one that focused on what our family has learned over the past five years since Isa was diagnosed with leukemia.

I’ve decided to post part of my letter for my blog readers because sometimes it helps to have an actual list right in front of you.

 

The Most Important Things the Mireles Family has Learned over the Past Five Years Since Isa was Diagnosed with Cancer

  1. It shouldn’t take almost losing someone close to you to make you realize how important they are.
  2. People in general are inherently good and will always step up and try to help in times of crisis.
  3. As much as we try, we cannot control everything. Sometimes it’s best not to fight too much and instead just let it happen.
  4. Allowing others to help and love you does not make you a weak person, it makes you human.
  5. The more love you give, the more love you get in return.
  6. There’s no reason to hold onto the past or worry too much about the future—it’s really the right now that matters. Live in the moment.
  7. Being critical and judgmental does not make you feel better in the long run. It actually makes you feel worse.
  8. People are who they are—it’s pointless to try to change them. It’s easier to just love them.
  9. Wanting what you have is way better than trying to have what you want.
  10. Although having money is great, feeling gratitude for all of the “insignificant” things in our lives makes us far richer than any amount of money ever could.
  11. Never take anyone for granted.
  12. Laughter and tears are equally important.
  13. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE and then LOVE some more. Then TELL those people how much you love them.

I am so grateful for all of you who read and comment on my blog! I hope this Holiday Season overflows with love, joy and laughter, and…

May the coming year reveal the blessings that are already right there in front of you!

isa xmas tree

She's come a long way!

She’s come a long way!

 

5 Responses to “My List”

  1. debatterman December 22, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    If I were to make a list, it would echo yours . . .#6 especially resonates, my own journey bringing me to that place of understanding that anxiety (rooted in the future) and pain (rooted in the past) ease when I’m fully present to the moment. You really do inspire me.

    • Allegro non tanto December 22, 2012 at 8:14 am #

      Having only recently learned the value of #6, I’d have to agree it’s probably one of the most important!Love and warm wishes to you and your family, Deborah! May the coming year be everything you hope it to be!

  2. Becky Green Aaronson December 22, 2012 at 8:09 am #

    This is a treasure. I especially like, “The more love you give, the more love you get in return.” Love to you and the family.

  3. Elisabeth Kinsey December 22, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    Love is the answer. This list is a nice reminder! 🙂

Leave a Reply

