Avoidance

24 Aug

Most of you know that I’m writing a novel. So far, I’ve written thirteen chapters and I’ve got to say that most of the time this process is either sublime or excruciating. Today was the latter.  I must have gone to the computer as least five times throughout the day and no matter how hard I tried, I could not get myself to start a new chapter.

So I’ve decided to dive down deep into avoidance and give it up, just for today. Tomorrow I’ll sit down again and see if my muse wants to make herself available once again.

In the meantime, here’s what I saw today in the garden.

aug 24 no. 2 aug 24 no. 3 aug 24 No. 4 aug 24 no. 5 aug 24 no. 8 aug 24 no. 9 aug 24 no. 10 aug 24 no. 11 aug 24 no. 12 aug 24 no. 13 aug 24 no 1 august 24 No. 6 august 24 No. 7

I’ve got to give credit to my lovely mother, Eleanor Winters, as some of the photographs posted here are of her garden. I’d say the proof of her exceptionally green thumb is evident, wouldn’t you?

Thanks, Mom for passing your love of gardening on to me.

10 Responses to “Avoidance”

  1. Betty Pierskalla August 24, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

    Beautiful pictures Jessie and Eleanor. I am so happy you are my friends, You make the little things in life seem so grand. I have an adult student who is writing her first novel..for 2 years now…and she does nothing else..most of her practicing has gone down the tubes, and she does not have to nor does she work at a job.. Once was a CEO of Deckers. Excruciating process, that novel writing is…She is finally on her last chapter…like about a thousand pages. Why would someone write that long of a novel on the first try?? I have been with her thru the writing for two years. She has been with me for 4 years. Sometimes she comes in with dark circle around her eyes..Gets up at 3 AM. Did I mention she is a type AAAA+ personality??
    Take care of yourself thru this writing process..and remember there is a life beyond those written words. Enjoy yourself. No obsessing, please. You are a dear friend.
    Betty

    • Allegro non tanto August 24, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

      Oh, Betty, you’re so sweet. Don’t worry about me–I’m not obsessed, at least not yet. The truth is, I can’t afford to become obsessed. I just carve out a few hours here and there, and before I know it, I’ll have finished the novel. And my novel will not be anywhere near that long! Thanks for your lovely words. You’re a good friend, too!

    • mamacurry September 2, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

      I’d like to give you a word press community award. Please click on the following link and follow the instructions found there to collect the award. http://notesfromnynny.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/495/

  2. Bonnie Gerstenfeld August 25, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    Begonias? Gorgeous. It’s like when you feel cruddy or sick and sometimes you just have feel cruddy or sick! Then it is over 😘

    • Allegro non tanto August 25, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

      You got that right, Bonnie. Yesterday was cruddy. Today is better!

  3. The Belmont Rooster August 25, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    Great photos!!!

  4. Melanie Jacobson August 26, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    “Keep Calm and Carry on” seems as fitting for wartime as it does for writing. Writing can feel like a war within. Have faith: it’ll come in time.

  5. Deborah Batterman August 27, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

    I’m sitting in my living room, doors open wide, listening to the nighttime summer symphony as I read your post and luxuriate in the images. For some reason I may one day fathom, the tree frogs, katydids, crickets, etc., are unusually vocal for late August. Are they ‘feeding’ me the way your garden so clearly feeds you?

    • Allegro non tanto August 27, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

      We all need to eat one way or another! Happy end of summer, my friend.

Leave a Reply

