Change is Good

1 Jan

malibu sunsetChange is always difficult for me. I’m just happier staying stuck in my snug little  rut which is warm and safe and oh, so comfortable. I’ve finally given up making any annual resolutions as it’s impossible for me to live up to all of the unrealistic goals and expectations I set for myself every year.  I rarely go out to celebrate on New Years Eve, preferring to stay home and off the road. And anyway–why should I celebrate something I don’t even want to acknowledge? 

This past New Year’s eve I spent alone with my nine year-old daughter and it was actually quite enjoyable. My husband,  in his usual spontaneous style, decided at the last minute to jump on a plane to Oaxaca and go visit his family. The three older kids all left to go out and celebrate with friends, so after Isa and I played a wild game of gin rummy (I beat her by only five points) we were left alone with our various forms of entertainment; she had her iPad downstairs and I had the complete second season of “Girls” on DVD upstairs.  

“Isa, Honey,” I told her, “please make sure you let me know if you’re coming upstairs while I’m watching my program, okay?”

“Why, mom?” she asked, “Is your show too inappropriate for nine year olds?”

“Way too inappropriate,” I said.

“Worse than ‘Adult Swim’ on Cartoon Network?” she asked.

Way worse,” I said, wondering how in the heck she knew what “Adult Swim” was in the first place.

“Girls” turned out to be so inappropriate that I watched all night long with my thumb on the pause button in case Isa came bounding  up the stairs into our room. But after the first episode I was so hooked that I couldn’t tear my eyes away from the screen.

I’m such a rotten mother. Instead of interacting with my daughter during the last few hours of 2013, I stayed up until almost two a.m. watching the entire ten episodes  of a very raunchy, yet very well-written television series. I guess I was craving more “girl” time than I realized.

I don’t have to tell you that I was quite tired the morning after, so even though I didn’t make any tangible resolutions this year, I decided that I would not waste the day. I dug in the garden for the first time in months, worked on my novel for a couple of hours, and spent time chatting with the kids (for some reason they called it nagging. What?)

Then I decided to make another change: I decided to create a new look for my blog. Now, in reality, this process is not that difficult. The website I use makes the task quite easy, even for techophobes like me. But because there is so much variety and so many choices,  I spent more than three hours pouring over fonts, colors and designs trying to come up with a theme I liked. It was overwhelming to say the least.

I finally gave up and just went with something that looked pretty. If you don’t like it, please don’t say anything because it will probably  just hurt my feelings. Now if it’s causing you so much distress that you no longer care to read my blog, then by all means, leave me a detailed comment on my blog with any suggestions you may have and I’ll take them under advisement.

Please do keep in mind how much I dislike change, though.

Happy New Year!malibu sunset 3

One of the last sunsets of 2013

One of the last sunsets of 2013

3 Responses to “Change is Good”

  1. injaynesworld January 2, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

    I love what you’ve done with the place, especially the splashy red in the header. I, too, am hooked on “Girls” and have the DVR already set for the new season. So glad to hear that you’re still working on the novel. On the 13th, I start a 5-week online memoir and personal essay class through The Loft.org that I’m both excited and nervous about. At least it should provide a daily kick in the pants. Happy New Year, my friend. Big hugs.

  2. Sharon January 4, 2014 at 8:45 pm #

    I love the change…it looks beautiful!!

  3. Britton Swingler January 19, 2014 at 5:07 pm #

    I love the new look! Funny…I was just thinking about delving into “Girls” myself.

    I too always feel guilty when I spend time doing something for me when the kids are home, but we really do need time to not be mommy-ing sometimes! I’m always a better mom after I have recharged.

Leave a Reply

