Drying Up

8 May

may 8 2015 1 may 8 2015 2 may 8 2015 5 may 8 2015 6 may 8 2015 7 may 8 2015 8 may 8 2015 9 may 8 2015 10 may 8 2015 11 may 8 2015 12 may 8 2015 13The garden has yet to realize we’re in a severe drought. We’ve completely stopped watering the lawn and it has since turned it into a crunchy plot of brown turf that makes me cringe every time I drive up to the house. I absolutely refuse to let my flowers die though, which means it’s bucket time around our house. We now have buckets in each shower to catch all the cold water that would normally go down the drain until the water temperature is hot enough.

For the longest time I couldn’t figure out why my back was hurting so much until I figured out it’s because I’m lugging buckets of water out to the yard every day.  Curse you, drought!

For those of you around the country who are experiencing hurricanes, tornadoes, thunderstorms, hail the size of baseballs and massive flooding, I apologize for complaining about a little dead grass. I humbly request that you please send some of your surplus rain out to Santa Barbara!

2 Responses to “Drying Up”

  1. Stella's Mommy May 9, 2015 at 6:47 am #

    The bucket thing reminds me of my childhood and visiting my grandparents in Santa Barbara! I have so many memories of taking showers surrounded by many gallon sized plastic milk containers that had their tops sawed off. The drought was over by then but Peggy was conditioned at that point not to waste one drop of water. Ps- your garden is gorge and Stella is going to love these picks. She’s a mini florist in the making!

  2. Mele May 9, 2015 at 7:34 am #

    Proud to be part of the bucket brigade too!!!!

Leave a Reply

